Explainer · published specs and public guidance
Travel Electric Toothbrush: Charge, Cases and Cables
For travel, the spec that matters is how long a charge lasts — from 14 days to BURST's claimed 9 months. Six brushes compared on charge life, charging cable and travel extras.
The best travel electric toothbrush is one whose charge outlasts your trip, so the charger can stay at home, with a cap or case that keeps the head clean and the button from being pressed. On the makers' own pages, read on 22 September 2026, stated charge life ranged from 14 days for Philips's Sonicare 1100 and 4100 to up to 75 days for the BURST Curve — and BURST claims up to 9 months for its Pro 2.0 on its freshen mode.
We have not taken any of these brushes on a trip. The figures below are what each maker states, and makers measure charge life their own way: Philips, for example, bases its 14 days on two two-minute brushings a day in standard mode. Your own mileage depends on the mode you use.
What makes a brush good for travel
Three things matter, in this order: how long the charge lasts, how it charges, and how it is protected in a bag. A long charge means no charger in the bag for most trips. A USB or USB-C cable means one cable can charge your brush and your phone. And a cap, case or travel lock stops the bristles picking up dirt and the brush buzzing in your luggage.
Size and weight matter too, but makers rarely state them in a way you can compare, so we have left them out rather than estimate them.
Water resistance is worth a glance if you will be brushing in hostel showers or shared bathrooms. BURST lists an IPX7 rating for its Nova and calls its Curve water resistant — "brush in the shower!" — while the Philips pages we read did not state a rating. A rating tells you what the maker designed for, not what happens if the brush is dropped in a sink, so treat it as a guide.
| Brush | Charge life (maker's words) | How it charges | Travel extras listed | Maker's price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philips Sonicare 1100 | 14-day battery life | Not listed | Not listed | $19.96 |
| Philips Sonicare 4100 | 14-day battery life | USB charging | Not listed | $49.96 |
| BURSTkids Sonic Toothbrush | 30 days of use per charge | Charging base | Kids travel case sold separately | $44.99 |
| BURST Curve | Up to 75 days | USB-C cable | Travel mode and protective travel cap | $34.99 |
| BURST Pro 2.0 | Up to 9 months on freshen mode | USB-C cable | Pro travel case sold separately | $120.99 |
| BURST Nova | Runs on one AAA battery | No charger — swap the battery | Not listed | $15.99 |
BURST Pro 2.0: up to 9 months on freshen mode · BURST Nova: runs on one aaa battery — not drawn, because it is not stated in days.
BURST Curve: built around travel
The BURST Curve is the brush in our list whose maker designs it most openly for travel. BURST calls it "the ultimate travel brush" and lists up to 75 days of charge, a travel mode, a protective travel cap and USB-C charging, for $34.99.
BURST says the Curve guides you through two minutes; its page does not list a pressure sensor or a 30-second pacer. If you press gently and want the least to think about on the road, it is the most complete travel package here for the price. See the Curve at BURSTaffiliate.
BURST Pro 2.0: the longest claimed charge
BURST claims up to 9 months from one charge of its Pro 2.0 — but the footnote on its page says that figure is "when used on freshen mode", so expect less on the modes you use most. It charges by USB-C, lists a pressure sensor and five modes, and costs $120.99. BURST sells a Pro travel case separately at $14.99.
That is a lot to pay for a travel brush alone. It makes sense if it is also your everyday brush and you want a pressure sensor and a long charge in one handle. See the Pro 2.0 at BURSTaffiliate.
Philips Sonicare 1100 and 4100: two weeks on a charge
Philips lists a 14-day battery life for both the Sonicare 1100, at $19.96, and the Sonicare 4100, at $49.96, measured on two two-minute brushings a day in standard mode. The 4100 charges over USB and adds a pressure sensor; both have a two-minute timer and a 30-second pacer.
Two weeks covers a one- or two-week holiday without a charger. For longer trips, the 4100's USB charging means a phone charger's cable can top it up. See the Sonicare 1100 and 4100 on Amazonaffiliate.
BURST Nova: no charger at all
The BURST Nova runs on one AAA battery, so there is nothing to charge — pack a spare battery for a long trip instead. It costs $15.99 from BURST, lists a two-minute timer signalled by vibration and an IPX7 water-resistance rating, and works as a cheap second brush that lives in a travel bag.
Remember that disposable batteries are a running cost and a small waste stream a rechargeable brush avoids. See the Nova at BURSTaffiliate.
Children's brushes on the move
BURST says its kids' brush gives 30 days of use per charge and sells a kids travel case separately at $12.99, which covers a trip of up to a month without the charging base. For younger children, a manual brush and a tube of children's toothpaste may be simpler to pack; the brushing, not the brush, is what matters. Our kids' electric toothbrush page sets out the age ranges.
Keeping the brush clean on the road
Travel is where brush hygiene slips. The ADA advises storing toothbrushes upright and letting them air-dry, and that is harder in a wash bag than on a bathroom shelf. Rinse the head well after brushing, let it dry in the open where you can, and then put on the cap or case before it goes back in the bag.
Do not share a head with a travel companion, however briefly; the ADA says toothbrushes should not be shared. If you are travelling for longer than your head's remaining life — the ADA's guidance is three to four months — pack a spare head rather than buying an unfamiliar one abroad.
Before you fly
If your brush has a rechargeable lithium battery, pack it in your carry-on: the TSA says devices containing lithium batteries "should be carried in carry-on baggage", and the UK Civil Aviation Authority says the same for personal electronic devices. Our guide to flying with an electric toothbrush quotes both regulators in full.
Check the charger's voltage label before plugging in abroad. Waterpik, for instance, lists "global voltage" for its Sonic-Fusion 2.0 brush-and-flosser; other makers' pages we read did not state a voltage range, so look at the charger itself.
The travel option that pays nothing
A manual toothbrush is the lightest travel brush there is, needs no charger or battery, and, according to the ADA, is effective at removing plaque. For a short trip it is a perfectly good choice, and recommending it earns us nothing.
If you are choosing one brush for home and travel, our spec-sheet comparison of electric toothbrushes sets charge life alongside timers, pressure sensors and price.
Travel toothbrush questions
Which electric toothbrush has the longest battery life?
Do I need to bring my toothbrush charger on holiday?
Can I charge an electric toothbrush with a USB cable?
How do I stop my toothbrush turning on in my suitcase?
Choosing a brush? The spec-sheet comparison of eight electric toothbrushes sets timers, pressure sensors, charge life and price side by side, with the manual brush first.