Published specs · not tested by hand
The best electric toothbrush has a timer, a pacer and a pressure sensor — and you may not need one at all
We compared eight electric toothbrushes on their makers' own published specifications, read on 22 September 2026, against the plainest option of all: a soft manual brush. Nothing here was tested by hand, and the manual brush we put first pays us nothing.
On this page
If you want an electric toothbrush, pick one whose maker lists a two-minute timer, a 30-second pacer and a pressure sensor — on the spec pages we read, the Philips Sonicare 4100 and the Oral-B Pro 1000 are the two that list all three. But the more honest first answer is that most people do not need one: a soft-bristled manual brush, used for two minutes twice a day with fluoride toothpaste, does the job, and recommending it earns this site nothing.
A word on method before the picks. Nobody at Bristle Bench put these brushes in their mouth. We read each maker's product page on 22 September 2026, copied down what it says about the motor, the timer, the pressure sensor, the charge and the price, and set the eight side by side with a manual brush. Where a page did not say something, the table says "not stated" rather than filling the gap from a review or a guess. Prices are the makers' own store prices on that date, not Amazon prices, which move daily and may be lower or higher.
2 of 8 electric brushes list a timer, a 30-second pacer and a pressure sensor together.
Do you need an electric toothbrush at all?
Probably not. The American Dental Association says plainly that "both manual and powered toothbrushes are effective at removing plaque", and the NHS puts it more bluntly still: it does not matter which you use, as long as you clean all the surfaces.
What an electric brush adds is a small, measurable edge on average. The Cochrane review of powered versus manual brushing (Yaacob and colleagues, 2014) pooled 51 trials with 4,624 participants and found powered brushes cut plaque by 11% more at one to three months and 21% more beyond three months, and cut gingivitis by 6% and 11% over the same two periods. The authors rated that evidence moderate quality and wrote that "the clinical importance of these findings remains unclear". That is a real difference on a plaque index, not proof that an electric brush prevents a single cavity.
Plaque
Gingivitis
The review's authors: the clinical importance of these findings remains unclear.
So an electric brush is a convenience with a modest evidence edge, not a necessity. The ADA names the people most likely to find one easier: anyone with dexterity problems, older adults, people with disabilities, children, and people wearing braces or other appliances. If you fall in one of those groups, or you know you rush your brushing, the built-in timer alone may be worth the money. If not, spend the difference on cleaning between your teeth. Our longer reading of the evidence is in electric vs manual toothbrush: what the trials actually found.
What we compared, and what we left out
We compared five things a maker can state and a reader can check: how the head moves, whether there is a two-minute timer with a 30-second pacer, whether there is a pressure sensor, how long the maker says a charge lasts, and the maker's own price. Everything else on a product page is either a colour, a mode name or a marketing claim.
The claims we deliberately left out are the "more plaque than a manual brush" multipliers. Oral-B says the Pro 1000 "removes 300% more plaque along the gum line than a regular manual toothbrush". Philips says the Sonicare 4100 "removes up to 7x more plaque" than a manual brush. BURST says its Pro 2.0 removes "up to 10x more plaque", measured over 30 days in whitening mode, with the data "on file". Each figure is the maker's own, measured on its own terms, and none can be compared with another. The independent pooled figure above — 21% less plaque after three months — is the one to keep in your head when you read them.
We also left out mode counts as a score. Three modes versus five tells you little; a sensitive mode can matter if your gums are tender, which is why we note it where the maker lists one.
The spec sheet: eight electric brushes and a manual one
The table below sets the eight electric brushes against a manual brush on the five specifications, exactly as each maker states them. "Not listed" means the feature does not appear on the product page we read; it may exist, but we could not confirm it.
| Brush | How it moves | Timer and pacer | Pressure sensor | Charge life (maker's words) | Maker's price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any soft-bristled manual brush | You move it | None — count two minutes yourself | None — keep a light grip | No charging | Not linked — it pays us nothing |
| Philips Sonicare 1100 | Sonic (vibrating) head | 2-minute SmarTimer, 30-second QuadPacer | Not listed | 14-day battery life | $19.96 |
| Philips Sonicare 4100 | Sonic (vibrating) head | 2-minute SmarTimer, 30-second QuadPacer | Yes — warns and reduces vibration | 14-day battery life | $49.96 |
| Oral-B Pro 1000 | Oscillating-rotating round head | 2-minute timer, pulses every 30 seconds | Yes — stops pulsations | Not stated | $89.99 list for a twin pack ($79.99 on sale) |
| Oral-B iO Series 2 | Oscillating-rotating with micro-vibrations (iO line) | Not stated for this model | Yes — automatic, two-colour | Not stated | About $65 (Oral-B's own comparison page) |
| BURST Nova | Sonic, 18,000 vibrations per minute in whitening mode | 2-minute timer by vibration cue | Not listed | Runs on one AAA battery | $15.99 |
| BURST Curve | Sonic head on a curved handle | Guides you through 2 minutes | Not listed | Up to 75 days | $34.99 |
| BURST Pro 2.0 | Sonic head | 2-minute timer on an LED display | Yes | Up to 9 months on freshen mode | $120.99 |
| Hismile Electric Toothbrush | Not stated | Built-in timer | Not listed | Not stated | $59 |
Read across the rows and the picture is simple. Only two of the eight electric brushes list a two-minute timer, a 30-second pacer and a pressure sensor together: the Sonicare 4100 and the Oral-B Pro 1000. The cheapest brush in the table is the BURST Nova at $15.99, and the cheapest rechargeable is the Sonicare 1100 at $19.96. The dearest is the BURST Pro 2.0 at $120.99.
Every electric brush below links out through a partner programme — Amazon for Philips and Oral-B, which run no programme of their own, and BURST and Hismile directly. A link pays us a commission if you buy; it does not decide the order on this page.
Philips Sonicare 4100: the sonic pick with all three guardrails
The Sonicare 4100 is our pick if you want a sonic brush, because its product page lists all three guardrails: a 2-minute SmarTimer, a 30-second QuadPacer and a pressure sensor that "warns you, and reduces the toothbrush vibrations automatically". Philips listed it at $49.96 on 22 September 2026, though the page showed it out of stock that day.
Philips states a 14-day battery life, measured on two two-minute brushings a day in standard mode, and charges it over USB. It carries a two-year warranty on the same page. What it does not list is a choice of modes or intensities, so if you want a separate gentle setting, check the specific colour variant before you buy. You can see the Sonicare 4100 on Amazonaffiliate, where the price may differ from Philips's own store.
Oral-B Pro 1000: the round-head pick, with the most trial evidence behind its motion
The Oral-B Pro 1000 is our pick if you prefer a small round head, and it is the one whose style of motion has the most trial evidence behind it. In the Cochrane review, rotation-oscillation brushes were studied in 27 trials — more than any other kind of powered brush — and showed a statistically significant reduction in plaque and gingivitis at both time points.
Oral-B's page lists a pressure sensor that "stops pulsations if you brush too hard", an in-handle timer that "pulses every 30 seconds", and three modes: Daily Clean, Whitening and Sensitive. The catch is the packaging. On 22 September 2026 Oral-B's US store sold the Pro 1000 as a twin pack at $89.99 list, $79.99 on sale, with two CrossAction heads and two chargers — good value if two people share a bathroom, less so if you live alone. Oral-B does not state a battery life on that page, and Oral-B says the Pro 1000 does not fit its newer iO brush heads. Find the Oral-B Pro 1000 on Amazonaffiliate.
Philips Sonicare 1100: the cheapest rechargeable with a pacer
If you want a rechargeable brush with a timer for as little as possible, the Sonicare 1100 is the one to look at: Philips listed it at $19.96 with a SmarTimer, a QuadPacer and a 14-day battery life. What its page does not list is a pressure sensor.
That makes it a sensible first electric brush for someone who brushes gently already and mainly wants the two-minute nudge. If you know you press hard, the extra $30 for the 4100's pressure sensor is the upgrade that matters. Check the Sonicare 1100 on Amazonaffiliate.
BURST Curve and Nova: long charge, travel, and a battery option
Of the rechargeable brushes, only the Pro 2.0 claims a longer charge than the BURST Curve: BURST says the Curve lasts up to 75 days, with a travel mode, a protective travel cap and USB-C charging, for $34.99. BURST's page says it guides you through two minutes but does not list a pressure sensor.
The BURST Nova is the cheapest brush in the table at $15.99 and runs on one AAA battery rather than a charger, which suits a spare brush or a bag that goes everywhere. BURST lists 18,000 vibrations per minute in whitening mode and a two-minute timer signalled by vibration. Both are sold by BURST directly: see the Curve and Nova at BURSTaffiliate. BURST does not publish what its partner programme pays, and we have not printed a rate for it anywhere on this site.
BURST Pro 2.0 and Oral-B iO Series 2: when the extras are worth paying for
Pay more only for a feature you will use. The BURST Pro 2.0, at $120.99, adds an LED display, five modes, a pressure sensor and a battery BURST rates at up to 9 months — on freshen mode, the page's footnote says, so expect less on the modes most people use. The Oral-B iO Series 2, at about $65 on Oral-B's own comparison page, brings the magnetic iO drive, three modes and an automatic pressure sensor that changes colour.
Neither page gave us everything. Oral-B's comparison did not state the iO Series 2's battery life or confirm its timer, and BURST's clinical figures are its own, "on file". If a long battery and a screen matter to you, the Pro 2.0 is the one that states them; if you want the round-head design with a pressure light for less, the iO Series 2 is the step up from the Pro 1000. See the Pro 2.0 at BURSTaffiliate or the iO Series 2 on Amazonaffiliate.
Hismile Electric Toothbrush: the one we can say least about
The Hismile Electric Toothbrush is in the table because Hismile runs a partner programme and people search for it, not because its specifications stand out. Its US store listed it at $59 on 22 September 2026, with three modes — Gentle, Intense and Everyday — a built-in timer, soft tapered bristles and a mode memory.
Its product page does not state how the head moves, how long a charge lasts or whether there is a pressure sensor, and none of that appears in its description. That leaves it with fewer confirmed specifications than the $19.96 Sonicare 1100. If you like the look and the brand, the Hismile brush is on Hismile's storeaffiliate; if you are choosing on specifications, the brushes above tell you more for the same money or less.
Running costs: heads every three to four months
The handle is a one-off; the heads are the running cost. The ADA says to replace a toothbrush "approximately every three to four months or more often if the bristles become matted or frayed", and that applies to a brush head just as it does to a manual brush.
That means three or four heads a year for each person using the brush. Before you buy a handle, check that its maker's heads are easy to find and that you are happy with their price, because you will buy them for as long as you own the handle. Oral-B says the Pro 1000 does not fit its iO brush heads, so the two ranges are not interchangeable. Generic heads exist for most big brands; they are not covered by the brush maker's warranty or tested to its standard, which we explain, along with a year's cost worked out from published pack prices, in replacement heads: when to swap and whether generics are OK.
Talk to a dentist first if any of these apply
A brush is a tool, not a treatment. If your gums bleed when you brush or look swollen, red or sore, the NHS advises seeing a dentist rather than buying your way around it — and very sore, swollen gums or a loose tooth are reasons to call a dentist, or NHS 111 in the UK, promptly. Teeth that have turned sensitive deserve the same visit.
The same goes for gums that seem to be pulling back from your teeth. A soft head and a pressure sensor are sensible for anyone, but only a dentist who has examined you can say why your gums have changed and what to do about it. Our guide to choosing a brush when your gums have receded covers what the brush makers' specifications can and cannot do. Children's brushes have their own page: kids' electric toothbrushes, by the age on the box.